We, African Americans Already Know About the F.B.I.

The bureau’s history is well known to us

'bumpyjonas…
4 min readAug 9, 2022
New York Herald via Gawker

I wish some of these Americans screaming on social media about some raid in Florida by the F.B.I. would scream about what happened to African Americans in the 1920s and 1960s at the hands of the F.B.I.

I doubt they would care even if they actually knew the evil that was done back then.

According to an August 25, 1967 memo by then F.B.I. Director, J. Edgar Hoover, Cointelpro (Counterintelligence Program) was created to “disrupt, misdirect, discredit or…neutralize” Black nationalist organizations…” Hoover’s goal was to attack their gatherings, “groupings,” and “leadership” to counter their activities.

Cointelpro is famous now. It no longer exists, as far as we know. It operated secretly for years to destroy African American leadership and organizations who were just seeking total freedom for black people in America. Hoover’s bureau came after black people with full force and with no restraint.

So, now, some Americans, mostly white Americans have run to the defense of the ex-President because his joint got raided. Let me spell it out for you.

The F.B.I. did more than raid places where African American activist were located; they came to kill if necessary. They…

--

--

'bumpyjonas…

word scratcher, baller...shot caller, born in a city made of chocolate.